CMA Honors Triple Play Award-Winning Songwriters

Jessica Nicholson • February 3, 2016 • 

Pictured (Back row, L-R): Luke Laird; Rhett Akins; Chris DeStefano; Tyler Hubbard; Shane McAnally. (Front row, L-R): Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer; Josh Osborne; Ross Copperman; Ashley Gorley; Zach Crowell; Brett James; host Troy Tomlinson, President and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Publishing. Photo: Donn Jones / CMA

Several of Nashville’s chart-topping songwriters were recognized as CMA Triple Play Award winners during the seventh annual CMA Songwriters Luncheon, held today (Feb. 3) at Nashville’s Marathon Music Works.

Seventeen songwriters were honored with the award, which is presented to those who pen three chart-topping hits in a 12-month period.

CMA Triple Play Award recipients included Rhett AkinsRoss CoppermanZach CrowellChris DeStefanoAshley GorleyTyler Hubbard, Sam HuntBrett JamesJaren JohnstonBrian KelleyLuke LairdHillary LindseyShane McAnallyJosh OsborneMatthew RamseyTrevor Rosen, and Brad Tursi.

For the first time since CMA began an annual recognition program for the Triple Play Awards, the Association presented three trophies to one songwriter. Gorley had nine songs reach No. 1 last year. The three Triple Play Awards bring Gorley’s total number of Triple Play honors to seven.

“Being on stage today with so many friends is a great feeling,” Gorley said. “We are all thankful for the CMA and the community of Nashville for respecting and recognizing us as songwriters, and awarding what we do behind the scenes. I’m thankful to be a part of the day.”

Copperman, DeStefano, and McAnally each received two Triple Play trophies, each having six songs race to the top of the charts. This brings their Triple Play Awards career totals to two, three, and four, respectively.

Akins and Laird received their fifth Triple Play Awards during the luncheon.

Receiving their first Triple Play Award today were Copperman, Crowell, Hubbard, Hunt, Johnston, Kelley, Ramsey, Rosen, and Tursi.

“Songwriters keep Music City playing and I’m honored to return as host for this important event celebrating this significant milestone in their careers,” said Troy Tomlinson, President and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Nashville and CMA Board member.

“We are very pleased to recognize these talented songwriters and songwriting artists for this impressive accomplishment and significant contribution to country music,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “Their craft evokes emotion and we are grateful they’ve chosen the country format to share their rare talents with the world.”

A full list of this year’s CMA Triple Play Award winners follows (in alphabetical order):

  • Rhett Akins: “Just Gettin’ Started,” “TonightLooks Good On You,” “Young & Crazy”
  • Ross Copperman: “Beat Of The Music,” “Don’t It,” “Smoke,” “John Cougar, John Deere, John 3:16,” “Strip It Down,” “Lose My Mind”
  • Zach Crowell: “Where It’s At,” “House Party,” “Hell Of A Night”
  • Chris DeStefano: “Rewind,” “Something In The Water,” “Just Gettin’ Started,” “Little Toy Guns,” “Kick The Dust Up,” “Smoke Break”
  • Ashley Gorley: “Play It Again,” “Yeah,” “I See You,” “Just Gettin’ Started,” “Don’t It,” “Tonight Looks Good On You,” “Kick The Dust Up,” “Young & Crazy,” “Nothin’ Like You”
  • Tyler Hubbard: “Hope You Get Lonely Tonight,” “Burnin’ It Down,” “Sun Daze”
  • Sam Hunt: “We Are Tonight,” “Leave The Night On,” “Take Your Time”
  • Brett James: “I Hold On,” “Bottoms Up,” “Something In The Water”
  • Jaren Johnston: “Beachin’,” “Sunshine & Whiskey,” “Raise ‘Em Up”
  • Brian Kelley: “Hope You Get Lonely Tonight,” “Burnin’ It Down,” “Sun Daze”
  • Luke Laird: “American Kids,” “Sunshine & Whiskey,” “Talladega”
  • Hillary Lindsey: “Shotgun Rider,” “Girl Crush,” “Little Toy Guns”
  • Shane McAnally: “American Kids,” “Leave The Night On,” “Take Your Time,” “Say You Do,” “Wild Child,” “Young & Crazy”
  • Josh Osborne: “Leave The Night On,” “Take Your Time,” “Wild Child”
  • Matthew Ramsey: “Say You Do,” “Save It For A Rainy Day,” “Break Up With Him”
  • Trevor Rosen: “Say You Do,” “Sangria,” “Break Up With Him”
  • Brad Tursi: “A Guy Walks Into A Bar,” “Save It For A Rainy Day,” “Break Up With Him”

originally posted at