Matt McGinn

Screen Shot 2018-02-06 at 1.47.24 PM.png

Matt McGinn is a Nashville-based multi-platinum songwriter and producer with award-winning music publishing powerhouse, SMACKSongs. The Virginia native has had songs recorded by Kane Brown, Florida Georgia Line, Walker Hayes, Jake Owen, Carly Pearce, Michael Ray and more. McGinn celebrated his first No.1 in 2017 with Kane Brown’s double-platinum hit, “What Ifs ft. Lauren Alaina,” which spent five consecutive weeks at the top of the Billboard Hot Country Songs Chart. He also wrote Kane Brown’s follow up single “Heaven,” which is Top 30 and climbing and has already earned Gold certification by the RIAA.


List of songs written by Matt McGinn:

Year Artist Album Song Co-writer(s)
2016 Florida Georgia Line Dig Your Roots Island J. Schmidt, Ryan Hurd
Kane Brown Chapter 1 Last Minute Late Night Corey Crowder, Ben Caver
Kane Brown Kane Brown What Ifs Kane Brown, J. Schmidt
2017 The Swon Brothers Pretty Cool Scars EP About Last Night Swons, Jeff Hyde
Kane Brown Kane Brown (Deluxe Edition) Heaven Shy Carter, Lindsay Rymes
Queen V Bridges Vol. 2 While I'm Alive Veronica Stigeler-Cowher
Walker Hayes boom. Prescriptions Walker Hayes

Awards and Nominations

Year Association Category Nominated work Result
2018 AIMP Nashville Awards Rising Songwriter of the Year n/a Nominated
Billboard Music Awards Top Country Song What Ifs Nominated